ICT

WhatsApp updates security by adding two-step-verification pass code

As WhatsApp says “Privacy and Security are in our DNA”, following the words they state, the application has come up with a much-needed security update.  WhatsApp introduced a two-step verification passcode procedure for its 1.2 billion users that ask for a six-digit passcode when you try to re-register your account from a different phone or in case anonymous tries to activate your phone number. This feature was under testing for last few months, basically on the beta versions of the Android app but now it has been made operatable for iOs and Windows users as well.

To enable the feature of this instant messaging application one will have to go through these simple steps; open WhatsApp > Settings > Account > Two-step verification > Enable.

This function enables users to add their email address for proceeded protection. The email address works as a backup ensuring users that they have another way getting into their WhatsApp account if they forgot the six-digit-pass code. With the addition of email address, users can ask Whatsapp to send them an email link which helps to disable the two-step verification procedure, adding the warning on their FAQ page which says, We do not verify this email address to confirm its accuracy. We highly recommend you provide an accurate email address so that you’re not locked out of your account if you forget your passcode.”

WhatApp, on its site, further warns users that if they receive any email about disabling two-step-authentication and you did never send the request then avoid clicking on the link.

The application provides an ultimate precaution that users will have to re-verify their account after 7 days of last using the app without the passcode, periodically, because if the user forgets the passcode and did not even provide an email address to receive the disable link, then the user will have to face troublesome situation of not being able to use WhatsApp for 7 days. After seven days, a user will be able to re-verify the account but their old messages would be gone.

WhatsApp adds, If your number is re-verified on WhatsApp after 30 days of last using WhatsApp, and without your passcode, your account will be deleted and a new one will be created upon successfully re-verifying”. So users need to be pretty cautious for their own security purposes.”

 

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.