NetMag Global
Federal Government Cancels Diplomatic Passports of PTI Leaders Amid Crackdown

Federal Government Cancels Diplomatic Passports of PTI Leaders Amid Crackdown

PTI Leaders Diplomatic Passports Cancelled

In a significant move, the federal government has taken action to cancel the diplomatic passports of nine prominent leaders of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) party. Former interior minister Sheikh Rashid and his party, led by Imran Khan, have come under scrutiny following the May 9 protests. Among those affected by the cancellation are Shah Mehmood Qureshi, Asad Umar, Azam Swati, Pervaiz Khattak, Ali Amin Gandapur, Farrukh Habib, Aun Abbas, Zartaj Gul, and Ali Muhammad Khan.

Government Crackdown on PTI Continues

The government’s crackdown on the PTI continues as it intensifies efforts to address the unrest that unfolded during the protests. Numerous PTI leaders and hundreds of their supporters have been apprehended due to their involvement in the violence and arson witnessed on May 9, which occurred after the arrest of party chairman Imran Khan.

Protests Turned Violent and Sparked Condemnation

During the protests, PTI party workers resorted to vandalizing military installations, including the Lahore Corps Commander’s House. This brazen act of aggression drew massive condemnation from both military and civil leadership, highlighting the seriousness of the situation. Such violent actions have raised concerns and prompted the government to take decisive measures against the PTI.

READ MORE: Reacting to the Stay Order: Justice Qazi Faez Isa Questions AGP’s Notification Failure

Imran Khan and Party Leaders Barred from Travelling Abroad

In a recent development, Imran Khan, the Chairman of the PTI and former prime minister, along with several other party leaders, has been barred from leaving the country. This restriction on their international travel serves as a preventive measure, preventing potential escape or evasion of legal consequences. The government’s decision to curtail their mobility further reflects the gravity of the allegations against the party.

No-Fly List Expanded to Include PTI Leaders

To tighten the grip around the Imran Khan-led PTI, the authorities have expanded the no-fly list to encompass numerous party leaders. Former first lady Bushra Bibi, former National Assembly speaker Asad Qaiser, Murad Saeed, Hammad Azhar, and over 600 other PTI leaders have had their names added to the list. By doing so, the government aims to restrict their ability to flee the country or engage in any activities that may compromise the ongoing investigations.

FIA Takes Action to Tighten Noose Around PTI

In a further effort to ensure accountability and curb any attempts to evade legal consequences, the Federal Investigation Agency (FIA) has taken action against the PTI. By including the names of PTI leaders in the provincial national identification list (PNIL), the FIA aims to exert greater control and surveillance over the party and its members. This move reinforces the government’s determination to hold those responsible for the vandal attacks accountable.


As the federal government cancels the diplomatic passports of prominent PTI leaders and intensifies its crackdown on the party, the implications for the future of the PTI and its members are becoming increasingly significant. With travel restrictions, an expanded no-fly list, and tighter scrutiny by the FIA, the authorities aim to ensure accountability and prevent any further attempts to evade legal consequences. The events surrounding the May 9 protests have caused substantial upheaval, leading to a decisive response from the government to address the violence and restore stability.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *